The Edgar-winning Dan Fortune Is Back!

For the first time ever, all 17 novels in the Dan Fortune series are available in both eBook and trade paperback.

Buy the Books!


  • Act of Fear

    #1 in the Edgar
    Award-Winning series

    As a teenager on the rough streets of New York City, Dan Fortune lost his arm in a failed break-in and decided it was time to go straight. The gritty Chelsea district was his only area of expertise, which is why he ended up in the private detective business there. Still, he’s not your typical beat-’em-up, hard-boiled dick (having only one arm cuts down on the urge for a fistfight) – he relies on brains, persistence, and compassion. Well-read and self-educated, he eventually ends up doing what few other series detectives manage – he makes a radical move, from Chelsea’s dark bars and alleys to the sun-drenched paseos and celluloid dreams of Santa Barbara, California. But the job is always the same – dangerous.

    “Finely honed suspense… May he thrive.” — New York Times

    “Smashing … leaves the reader breathless.” — Publishers Weekly

    “A master of crime fiction.” — Ellery Queen

    “The creation of one-armed detective Dan Fortune helped revive the old-fashioned detective yarn.” — Tulsa World

    “Dennis Lynds was probably the most important and influential writer of private-eye stories to emerge in the past 40 years. His series about one-armed detective Dan Fortune is filled with the sense of pace, setting, and characterization of a master stylist, and the social consciousness of a committed human being.” — Crippen & Landru

    Buy The Books:


  • Dennis Lynds
    Welcome to the Exciting Literary World of Dennis Lynds…

    A raconteur and Renaissance man, Dennis Lynds changed the mystery form and along the way created iconic private detectives who won the hearts of readers and the awards of critics. He was a tall, lanky man with a nose the size of Gibraltar and a generous nature that made him a soft touch for friends, panhandlers, and his children. He published some 40 novels under various pseudonyms, won prizes such as the Edgar Allen Poe Award, the mystery world’s highest honor, and received accolades from legendary authors and legendary newspapers… Learn More

  • Books
    Fortune Speaks

    Kirkus Reviews praises Dennis’s books as “taut, fast, and literate.”

    • I lost my left arm. I’m right-handed. There is some good in everything, if you look at it correctly.
    • A detective who expects his clients to tell all wouldn’t work much.
    • Like most men who despise money, I always need some.
    • Maybe she made a lot of her own troubles, but don’t we all when you come down to it?
    • Four o’clock in the morning is that final moment of truth – the time when there is nowhere else to go but home. If a man has a home.

    For more of our favorite “Fortune Speaks,” click here.